Santo Domingo

Province: Distrito National

●  Superficie totale: 80 Km2

Population: 1.111.838 habitants

Municipio: Santo Domingo

Superficie totale: 80 Km2

Population: 1.111.838 habitants

Centre historique

●  Superficie totale: 92.6 ha

●  Population: 13.600 habitants

Outils d'Analyse

1) Cadre Normatif
2) Analyse Administré Territoriale
3) Analyse du service courant
4) Dimensionnement technique
      des services de collecte des déchets
5) Projection économique
      du nouveau service
6) Programme de sensibilisation
7) Règlement hygiénique Ville coloniale

Des lignes directrices pour l'élaboration du plan


Pendant l’élaboration de la méthodologie, nous sommes partis de ce principe : la production des déches municipaux solides, toujours en augmentation, est l’un des principaux problèmes du troisième millénaire, qui doit être traité avec décision par les gouvernements, les entreprises et les citoyens. Chacun d’eux doit jouer son rôle pour protéger les générations futures et assurer à tout le monde une égalité de chances de développement durable. À la fin du processus d’analyse et de confrontation nous avons réalisé des lignes directrices. Elles sont un manuel facile à consulter et utiliser, capable de guider les choix et les actions indispensables pour le lancement et la gestion d’un nouveau service de tri sélectif, qui respecte les règles sanitaires et de protection environnementale.

Donc nous avons réalisé des lignes directrices, qui respectent les principes de durabilité économique, financière, environnementale et de gestion, prêtes à devenir un format applicable à des contextes différents. L’objectif de ce travaille est de guider l’administration locale dans la conception, la sensibilisation, réalisation et le lancement d’un système efficient de gestion intégrée des déchets municipaux et assimilés fondé sur le tri sélectif.

Guide pour la conception
d'un système intégré de gestion des déchets

LANGUE ESPAGNOLE

(63 pages)

Annexe III · Projet pilote
usine de compostage

LANGUE ESPAGNOLE

(42 pages)

Des lignes directrices pour le développement
d'un projet de gestion intégrée des déchets

LANGUE FRANÇAIS

(60 pages)

Le plan de collecte


Le plan de tri sélectif pour la Ciudad Colonial de Santo Domingo, a engagé les habitants dans le service porte-à-porte pour prendre les matériaux recyclables (papier, carton, aluminium et fer blanc). Nous avons travaillé le long d’un chemin très complexe, qui s’est terminé au milieu du mois de novembre 2012 avec le lancement du tri sélectif. L’objectif a été de permettre à l’ADN de Saint-Domingue d’effectuer le processus en constante autonomie. A cet égard, la contribution offerte par le CBSA1, tant du point de vue technique que du point de vue de la formation, a été essentielle. Les activités principales ont été : définir la région pilote, analyser le potentiel et les manquements, établir les nécessités techniques opératives et les technologies qu’on devait utiliser pour la collecte et le tri des déchets à recycler, définir la région de transfert, planifier et réaliser la campagne de sensibilisation. Nous avons commencé le tri sélectif d’abord dans deux « barrios » et ensuite dans les autres, pour faciliter l’acquisition du processus de la part des citoyens. En octobre 2013 tous les habitants de la Ciudad Colonial pouvaient faire le tri sélectif. L’objectif a été de collecter au cours de la première année à peu près le 4% de multimatériaux (plastique, aluminium, fer blanc), à peu près le 5% de papier et à peu près le 2% de carton. 

Piano di Progetto finale · Santo Domingo 
LANGUE ESPAGNOLE

(53 pages)

La communication et la sensibilisation


Nous savons bien que la communication favorise la compréhension des nouvelles connaissances qui comportent aussi un changement d’habitudes, sociales et culturelles. Dans le Projet REVIME nous avons accordé une juste valeur tant à la communication que à la participation. Avec le plan de communication nous avons défini les actions stratégiques pour donner visibilité au Projet et informer les autres personnes sur le tri sélectif, le bien-être environnemental e la préservation du territoire. Le programme de sensibilisation a été complémentaire au plan de communication, pour faire comprendre aux gens les effets avantageux immédiats et futures qu’ils pouvaient avoir grâce au tri sélectif pour devenir partie consciente de cette nouvelle activité.

Un aspect très important des activité de communication et sensibilisation est lié à ce qu’on appelle gamification, c'est-à-dire la modalité d’intégration qui utilise le jeu dans les activités quotidiennes, afin de modifier le comportement des gens et favoriser leur intérêt vers le message communiqué. Avec les manifestations massives, le concours international et les activités éducatives, quelques événements ou mécanismes de participation, nous avons cherché à motiver les gens pour qu’ils trouvassent d’avantages et de gratification dans la participation active au Projet, et continuassent le tri sélectif.
 

Activités de communication et de sensibilisation


Nous avons étendu partout notre action d’information et de sensibilisation sur le tri sélectif. Le processus a comporté le recensement et la participation de la plus part des familles résidentes dans la Ciudad Colonial de Saint-Domingue.

Les opérateurs de l’ADN destinés à l’activité de sensibilisation ont été d’abord formés, ensuite ils ont donné à chaque famille un kit. Il contenait : un dépliant avec les informations pour effectuer correctement le tri sélectif, le calendaire avec les jours et les horaires de livraison, une carte pour prendre les bustes, un premier group de bustes (jaunes pour le papier, bleues pour les multimatériaux). Pour donner importance au lancement du processus, nous avons organisé une conférence de presse à laquelle est suivi un évènement.

La Journée Écologique a été une fête publique avec la participation des jeunes et des adultes résidents dans la Ciudad Colonial de Saint-Domingue.

L’évènement a été caractérisé par des jeux de plein air, des stands d’information, des attractions pour les petits, des concerts. Pendent tout le 2013 nous avons organisé d’autres évènements plus petits et des réunions, pour motiver les habitants des divers "barrios" au tri sélectif, conformément au plan de collecte. Nous avons créé aussi un Info Point, qui encore aujourd’hui mène un travail constant d’information et sensibilisation sur les thèmes du Projet REVIME.
 

Produits de sensibilisation

Carte

Dépliant

Affiche

Calendrier

Produits de Communication


Poster 1

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 2

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 3

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 4

(50 x 70 cm)

Affiche 1

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 2

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 3

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 4

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 5

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 6

(70 x 100 cm)


Affiche 7

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 8

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 9

(70 x 100 cm)

Affiche 10

(70 x 100 cm)

Galerie Photo

Santo Domingo

District: Distrito National

●  Total area: 80 Km2

Population: 1.111.838 inhabitants

Municipio: Santo Domingo

Total area: 80 Km2

Population: 1.111.838 inhabitants

Historical Centre

●  Total area: 92.6 ha

●  Population: 13.600 inhabitants

Analysis Tools

1) Normative framework
2) Territorial Administered Analysis
3) Analysis of the current service
4) Technical dimensioning
      of separate collection services
5) Economic projection
      of the new service
6) Awareness raising programme
7) Hygienic Regulation of the Colonial City

Guidelines for the elaboration of the Plan


During our methodology sessions, we knew one thing for sure: that the production of solid urban waste, which is continually growing, is one of the third millennium's worst problem. The problem needs to be dealt with face on by governments, businesses and citizens in each country with everybody doing their part to protect future generations and guarantee equal opportunity to sustain development. At the end of the analysis process and comparison we created some guide lines. It was an easy to use manual for consultation, which gave advice on choices and indispensable actions at the launch and advises on the management of the new recycling system while respecting hygienic and sanitary principles and to protect the environment.

We therefore created guide lines, fully respecting the principles of economic sustainability, financial principles and administrative and environmental issues until we created a format which was applicable in different contexts. The conclusion of this work was to guide local administration in the project, in the awareness campaign, the realisation and launch of an efficient management system dealing with urban and other similar waste which was based on recycling.

Guide to the design
of an integrated system of waste management

SPANISH LANGUAGE

(63 pages)

Attachment III · Pilot project
composting plant

SPANISH LANGUAGE

(42 pages)

Guidelines for the development
of an integrated management project of waste

FRENCH LANGUAGE

(60 pages)

Recycling Plan


The recycling plan for Ciudad Colonial di Santo Domingo involved the resident population by introducing a door-to-door collection service in order to collect recyclable materials such as paper, cardboard, aluminium and white latten. The process was very well-structured and we worked for a long time on this plan. We finished the plan in mid November with the start of the recycling launch. The aim was for the ADN of Santo Domingo to allow the recycling process to grow independently. In the same way CBSA1's contribution, both technical and educational, was fundamental. The initial activities were: decide on the pilot area, analyse the potential and critical situation, stabilise the necessary operational techniques and the technology needed for the waste collection. They also decided on the selection of waste for recycling, the individual transfer area and to plan the awareness campaign. We launched the recycling scheme in the two ''barrios'' first, the other areas followed, so to support the citizens during the recycling process. In October 2013 the whole resident population of Ciudad Colonial took part in recycling scheme. The aim was to collect about 4% of multi-material (plastic, aluminium, white latten), about 5% of paper and about 2% cardboard within the first year. 

Final Project Plan · Santo Domingo 
SPANISH LANGUAGE

(53 pages)

Communication and awareness


We know all too well that communication facilitates the understanding of new knowledge even when change is regarding both social and cultural habits. In project REVIME, we gave equal space to communication and participation. We outlined the strategic actions by using the communication plan in order to expose the project and informed people about the recycling system, about the well-being of the environment and on the protection of their land. The awareness campaign went hand in hand with the communication plan in order to make people understand the immediate and future benefits thanks to recycling and to make them willing participants in this new activity.

A very important aspect of the communicative and awareness campaign is linked to the so called gamification; the way to involve people by using games in everyday activities in order to change the behaviour of people and encourage their interest in the message being communicated. During a demonstration in the main square, the international competition, educational activities, events and using participation instruments, we tried to motivate people until we made them understand the benefit and satisfaction from actively participating in the project and thus proceeding with recycling.
 

Communication Activities and Awareness Raising


We conducted a detailed awareness and informative campaign on recycling in Santo Domingo. The campaign process planned for a census to be given to most resident families in Ciudad Colonial in Santo Domingo.

The awareness raising team ADN, were first trained up in the topic and they then distributed a kit to each nuclear family. The contents of the kit were: a leaflet informing families of the correct way to carry out recycling, a calender with the days and times of disregarding waste, a card which enables residents to collect their rubbish bags and their first set of bags. (yellow for paper, blue for multi-material). In order to promote the launch of the scheme, we organised a press conference which was followed by a launching event.

The event was named 'Giornata Ecologica' (Environmentally friendly day), which took place in the main square, and it involved resident adults and youngsters in Ciudad Colonial in Santo Domingo.

Concerts, informative stands, attractions for children and games in the main square characterised the event. Throughout 2013 we organised other events and meetings for youngsters in order to motivate the residents in the different “barrios” to take part in recycling in accordance with the recycling plan. We also created an Info Point office, which is still there today, which ensures round the clock information and raising awareness activities.
 

Awareness Products

Card

Leaflet

Small Poster

Calendar

Communications Products


Poster 1

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 2

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 3

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 4

(50 x 70 cm)

Poster 1

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 2

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 3

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 4

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 5

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 6

(70 x 100 cm)


Poster 7

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 8

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 9

(70 x 100 cm)

Poster 10

(70 x 100 cm)

Photo Gallery